Monday, May 25, 2009
Surprise Surprise!!
Sunday, May 17, 2009
7 weeks to go!!
random raccoon running on the course,,,sure,,,why not?
is this thing a dinosaur? I have no idea what it was but i sure was glad my zoom lense was working,,,,
here we are in South Beach. I am the whale in front,,,embracing my "whaleness"
The week after Miami, we went to Louisville for Ash's youngest brother's wedding. Whit and Ali are so stinkin cute you might throw up,,,so beware:)
Needless to say, it has been a very crazy past few weeks around this house. And the next few will undoubtedly be just as crazy. My sweet and dear friend Shelby is putting together my nursery this coming Friday, and then I celebrate my 30th birthday. Oh my goodness. 30. Geez Louise. Cant even think about that now....:) YOu know whats funny? How I measure my life in weeks now. Like I have 7 weeks left till my baby is here. Odd isnt it?
My son is kicking away in my tummy now as I type. You want to know his name? Its Charles Ashley Clayton III,,,and we will call him Charlie. :)))) My very first dog was named Charlie. He was a basset hound who ran away on Thanksgiving morning when I was very young. Hopefully my Charlie will not do the same....:))
Saturday, April 11, 2009
Dunkin Donuts and So Much More!!
Now I totally understand if you never want to read my blog again:)
Sunday, March 01, 2009
The Wii--Friend or Foe?
I dont know if you all have played Wii Fit, but let me just tell you the little beef I have with the Wii Fit. After I went through the set up process, it tells you if you are overweight,,,underweight, obese, or normal. Since there is NO BUTTON TO TELL IT YOU ARE PREGNANT, it told me I was overweight. So that got me slightly upset from the start. Then once you get the board set up and stand on it, it registers your weight or something. Well, the little smarty pants inside my Wii Fit always says--"Oohh". As if I hurt her when I stood on the board. Well here is a newsflash for ya honey...its only gonna get worse cause I am only getting bigger by the day! I should call the Wii makers in Japan and have them put on a setting for pregnant women so that its a tad more sensitive!! But I did play for an hour yesterday and then 30 min today. The Hula hoop is awesome! ASh said he is gonna videotape me doing it and put it on you tube. I will kill him if he does that:)
This week I had dinner with some old friends at Olive Garden. I usually always get the tiramisu cause its AWESOME! But they have a new dessert you must go get today. Its like donuts with chocolate sauce and raspberry sauce. So I got both desserts, of course, but the donuts are unbelievable. Trust me. My preggo tummy will not fail you:)
I almost took a pic of my tummy for this but chickened out,,,,one day though:)
Sunday, February 15, 2009
Its a ...
Friday morning Ash and I went to the doctor to find out lots more about our sweet one. My first ultrasound with the goo on the tummy (praise the Lord!!!) She wasted no time and poured it on me and started checking everything out. We were just relaxing watching the nice flat screen they had to view when she said "You want to find out?" Let me back up a couple of months...
Around 12 weeks the doctor guessed it was a girl. Then a month or so later when the other doctor heard the heartbeat he guessed girl also. So I really was like...alright. A mini-Meredith. Sweet Jesus--have mercy on me. :) So you can imagine my utter shock and surprise when the nurse Friday said, " Its a BOY!!" I just looked at her like she had lost her mind. Ashley totally started laughing. Don't get me wrong--I am thrilled to have a baby boy! Most importantly he is healthy so thats a praise. But I didnt talk much cause I was in shell shock for a couple of hours.
We met up with Kelly and Bennett for breakfast at Pancake Pantry to tell her the news and she was totally shocked too! Bennett even had bets on that the baby was a girl. We told our parents on Valentines Day at a brunch mom made for us and Ash's parents. So I can ease into this parenting thing cause I hear boys are a bit easier:)
I do want to gloat on my amazing husband for a quick second....
Last night for Valentines we had Travis and Kelly over for dinner. I was up working out and he cooked the entire meal. Yummy steaks, twice baked potato, sauteed green beans! I literally did nothing but make a pie for dessert. He cooked and get this ladies.....he did the dishes after too!! Sweet man! Well, thats the least he can do since I am sacrificing my body for 9 months. Geez..
One more thing before I go,,,I think my friend Keeley brought her son Reed home today from being in the hospital 94 days. I cant imagine how thrilled she is...love you Keeley!
I am getting close to putting pictures of my belly on here....just need the courage.....stay tuned
Sunday, February 08, 2009
Baby Store--Take One
Sunday, January 25, 2009
Home Sweet Home
I am the one completely covered!!!

It is so good to be home...
Sunday, January 11, 2009
More Mac-n-cheese please!!!
First and best of all,,,my sweet angel nephew Bennett is out of the hospital today! He was admitted for upper respiratory issues and they feared pneumonia. Thankfully after extensive tests he was allowed to go home this afternoon! I am so excited to see him, which brings me to more news....
Second--Trav, Kel, and Bennie-boo-boo are moving here this weekend!! The prodigal son returns!! (just kidding trav!) I am super duper thrilled to have them home and I can see them all the time! We will be the original couple again like in college! For those of you who didnt go to ACU with us, let me give you some background. This will be fun :)
Kelly transferred her sophomore year, my freshman year. She was the hot ticket when she arrived. Everyone asked her out including Travis, of whom she rejected twice! I told him to forget about her cause she was obviously not interested:) Turns out she and I had a class together. I remember the night we met,,,
It was a night health class and we were in line getting our body fat tested. Every womans nightmare. Seriously! She was a few people ahead of me and someone walked by to ask her if she was going to their basketball game--which in of itself is hysterical. Have you seen Kel play ball? Thats neither here nor there,,,,but its so funny:) love you kel!
So once I put the name and face together, I calmly asked her why she would not go out with my brother? Logical question I thought. Turns out she did want to, but Trav was so slow on the asking part that other guys beat him to it. She had her eye on my bro anyway, so it all worked out. She became my bestest and dearest friend. I am so happy to have her as my sister in law. I really am blessed to have her and Kim who has known me since I was 10 years old. Let me tell you,,,she has some good stories on your girl here. So lets hope she never blogs about it!
But I always hung out with trav and Kelly, so to have them here is truly wonderful. I plan on getting to her house bright and early on Fridays and hang out all day only to leave before Trav gets home! Good plan!
Oh-I also need to get a good Motown cd for Bennett. At my cousins wedding he was laughing so hard his shoulders were shaking to the song by the Four Tops-Sugar Pie Honey Bunch,,,It was hilarious!
One more good thing about this week--the show 24 has FINALLY come back! For those faithful who endured last season,,,let me say that Jack is Back!!
Now-Pregnancy. I know it seems like I complain but I am not meaning too! I am truly thankful for this miracle because it really is a miracle. Have you stopped to think about the details that go into this? Everything has to be perfect! But, without the other details, you all know what I mean:) get your minds out of the gutters! :)
We ate at J Alexanders the other night and I ordered a salad. Good right? Oh-no worries cause I got my own side of mac-n-cheese. Had too-its too good. For breakfast saturday I did well up until a certain point. I had egg whites and turkey bacon, some yogurt with fruit also. But,,,then I made cinammon rolls. The mini ones that are squares? Yep-well---ate about,,hmmm,,,12 or so? Then I just licked off the icing of the rest of the rolls. So much for the healthy breakfast.
I am starting my 15th week and I think I may be experiencing heart burn. Never had it before but I think I do now. Is this normal? Surely it cant be my sporadic eating habits! :) I feel like I am throwing up in my mouth sometimes, but I really am not. Does that make sense?
So I watched some of the Golden Globes tonight. Mainly to see the dresses and my leading man Leo!!! Shout out to Leslie!! How many times did we watch Titanic in our dorm room after chapel? too many!! All those women who have had kids and they are so tiny!! Sickening! Oh well. Bet they arent really happy anyway. :")
So, Trav and Kelly move Saturday and we go with Ash's family to Beaver Creek, CO to do some snowboarding next week. That is if I can fit into my ski clothes. :)))
Hope everyone has a great week!!!
Monday, January 05, 2009
Happy New Year
This will no doubt be the best year of my life and I am so excited to get it going! We just got back last night from an amazing trip to Lake Tahoe. The beauty of the lake is indescribable, but there were a few things that were,,,,um,,, a little drabby. :) Let me walk you through it:
Our flight left Nashville Tues night and of course we had a delayed flight in Vegas. I mean--the city that never sleeps? Get your planes in on time!!!!! Anyway, so I was one of the people who slept on the floor at the airport. We were about an hour late and it was already almost midnight. I kept myself full of food thanks to Sbarro Pizza and strawberries and cream frappachino. Oh-Vegas Sbarro is NOT the real Sbarro. No idea what that was but I ate it anyway...I digress.
We finally land in Reno and had to rent a car. All the car rental places were closed and so Ash had to talk to someother car place. We got the car--Volvo Wagon,,very sheek,,,and drove an hour or so to the hotel. Scratch that--ASh drove---I slept. I am pregnant--I do what I please. :)
Got to the hotel/casino and we got placed in the wrong room but it was almost three in the morning and I was done. Those that know me know that I go to bed like 9:30-10 in true Speck fashion.
Got moved bright and early the next day into a gorgeous room on the top floor overlooking the lake. The bellman told us the New Years eve party in the street was so "righteous". Are we surfing??? He said there would be 50,000 college kids there and we should go. I looked at Ash like---there is NO WAY I am going. Way too old for that. I got the look of agreement from him that we were on the same page. Love the looks you can give each other after so much time together---I got his all down. He is such a dead giveaway.
So we had fun snowboarding--I was careful!!! We ate breakfast buffet every morning,,,I prayed I would fit in my ski clothes everyday and i did thank you very much. At night we ate at several different restaurants throughout the hotel. My fav was Cabo Wabu---the had the best guacomole. Seriously. TDF. It came in a martini glass so I ate the whole thing and nibbled of his dinner. That must not have been enough for me and baby so I had strawberry sundae delivered to the room. Nice. I mean-- I am not even trying to watch what I eat. Yeesh.
Oh-So ASH played Blackjack at night. I didnt go to much cause it was so smokey and I didnt want Baby to come out holding a Marlboro. He lost of course--bless his heart. I played for a few minutes one day after breakfast and was up $75 before I quit. Ash was so excited for me! I was like--this is easy--just walk away when you are winning. Any nimrod could do this,,but oh no. Not Ash--he played till the bitter end:)
So, after days of snowboarding and eating guac and breakfast bars, I was good to go.
Our flights yesterday were somewhat uneventful. I fell asleep on the first one and felt myself jerk. You know when you do that in church or someplace? I did, it woke me up and the dude next to me was totally laughing. I played it off by trying to get something out of my bag on the floor. Next flight I should have one an Oscar for my performance on making our middle seat seem unavailable. I messed with my purse and bag the whole time till people finished walking by/ (tee-hee) So I stretched out that flight.
Last flight I was not so lucky. I tried but ended up moving over to the middle cause heaven forbid Ash sit there. This lady, who had just finished smoking 10 cigs, came to sit by me. She had little to no teeth which is an issue for me. She also kept asking a million questions about out trip. I should have been nicer but I didnt want to inhale that smoke! Baby Clayton was in peril!! So I causally turned myself almost completely sideways and leaned on Ash for about two hours. I had the air full blast on me too. I got a lecture from him to be nice but I was more concerned about baby. Then as er got closer to land she asked if our streets were always this wet looking. I replyed---"Yes. We water our streets everyday." This got a nice nudge in the ribcage from Ash. Obviously it was raining so I answered her ridiculous question with a ridiculous answer. Being preggo has made me quite bold.
so, we are back in one piece. Ash wants us to try to east better. I think its crap cause its the one time in my life I can eat bad and he wants to eat better. Unbelievable.
well, I hope everyone will have a safe new Year!!
Sunday, December 28, 2008
Ash + Me + Baby = 3!!
I am knocked up:) Of course my hubby is like "Can you put it in a better way?" I have been waiting to announce it until Ash's family found out at Christmas. So today marks three months which means I am almost done with the first trimester.
If any of you have read the Jenny McCarthy books on pregnancy and babies...they are hysterical. Somewhat raunchy, but funny. I thought I would blog about the joys of pregnancy from my point of view. So, here we go......
From some friends and family members I have heard that in their first trimesters they lost alot of weight. They were sick alot, which I totally sympathize with. I only threw up once, but that could have been caused from the gigantic cinammon roll I bought at Publix. Other than that I have felt ok. Whoever called it morning sickness is a big fat liar. I was sick all day long at work and at home. I am finally getting over all that which brings me back to the weight issue.
I cant stop eating.
Its that simple. All I want to eat is macaroni-n-chesse. I havent touched a salad in 13 weeks, and for those that know me that is very weird. My husband is totally confused at my recent appetite. I no longer graze off his waffle fries from Chick-fil-A. I get my own and do not share under any circumstance. I am pretty sure I have not lost any weight this first trimester. I can still fit in my clothes because thankfully I am still exercising. But as I sit here and write this in my jeans, the top button is unbuttoned. :)
Also, my face has broken out like a freakin 13 year old. Its getting better but come on already!! I cant handle too many changes at once. I bet my body is freakin out from all the mac-n-cheese and chips I am pouring into it. Another good example---the other night we went to eat at Chili's after visiting my friend Keeley and her sweet baby Reed at the NICU . Of course we got chips and salsa, but then I got the fajita pita but only ate the fries. Skip the protein--head straight for the carbs. Nice Mere.
Ash and I leave to go snowboarding on Tuesday for the new year and I can barely get into my ski clothes. Good grief. Oh well. I have said that if I was ever blessed enough to get pregnant I was gonna enjoy it. So the time has come. Let the blizzards from Dairy Queen come a plenty!!
If any other friend has eaten alot in your first trimester,,can you send me a little note of encouragement? Cause at the moment I have no idea if its baby down there, or if I am just bloated from the 3 biscuits I ate at Cracker Barrell.
So I am gonna go get into something way more comfy than these stupid jeans.
Goodnight!!
Monday, December 01, 2008
Under Construction
Please Stay tuned!!!!
Sunday, May 11, 2008
Happy Mothers Day!
We then had a cookout at my Aunt Carols house last night which was awesome! It truly is hard to beat Memphis bar-b-que! The highlight of the night happened with my dad. Here is the story: Mom, dad, Ash and I were getting ready to leave Aunt Carol and Uncle Jerry's house for the night. Ash and I talked for awhile with everyone, but I kept hearing a light knocking sound. I thought it was the girls out on the porch so I kept talking. I heard the knocking again a few minutes later,, a little louder this time,,but kept on going. ( I had to get through my conversation!) Then I noticed dad was nowhere to be found. I heard the knocking again, and mom went through a hallway and to a bathroom where my dad had been locked in for several minutes! He said he was starting to sweat thinking he would be stuck in the bathroom for the rest of his life! He emerged safely and we went home exhausted.
But I love coming to see my grandparents--Gran and Nana. Always love coming to their house, with its beautiful landscape and warm smells of great cooking inside. They always make you eat until you are literally about to pop by saying, "Come on Mere. Get you some more! Finish it up!" Why do grandmothers do that? In the mornings, its hard to sleep in cause Nana is right outside our room talking to mom saying she cant hear mom, and wondering when we are going to get up. Meanwhile mom is talking quiet so as not to wake us but Nana cant figure that out. So, therefore I am wide awake in there just listening to their conversation. (Just wear the freakin hearing aids please!) But now we are waiting on everyone to get here to celebrate Mothers Day Nana style. I can smell the roast, hashbrown casserole, corn, and of course--Nana's rolls. I know everybody's grandmother makes good rolls or something,,,but Nana's are ridiculously good. I shall eat several in fact without hesitation.
I was just informed that this year,,,for the first time in family history,,,,the kids are eating where the grownups used to eat!! NO MORE KIDS TABLE!! There was a mutiny arising and Nana surrendered but switching. I am so excited! We will take pictures by the same hydrangia bush we always have, then come in and eat ourselves sick. I will in no way contribute to the ride home also. I will sleep in the back while Ash drives with Dad in the front telling stories about anything and everything. Here is a pic of the family in front of said hydrangia:
i read a quote today at church about mothers that I thought was awesome!
"To the world you are one person, but to one person you are the world!" (love you mom!)
Hope you all have a great day!
Sunday, May 04, 2008
13.1 miles baby!
He was on my flight home to Nashville, and I had tons of questions for him, but decided to let him fly in peace.
So, last weekend I did the Country Music Marathon,,but just the half. It started out raining on us, and it was the crack of dawn on a Saturday. It turned out to be really cool and fun. Here is my medal that I have been wearing daily since then,,,
I will stop wearing it soon, cause it is in the way as I work on my patients:)
So, that about does it for now. I go to Michigan next week to see Palmer and Lainey Hope so I will post more then!! Have a good one!!
Saturday, February 09, 2008
Just a little "chop",,,
Friday:
Ash and I arrive late to Eagle County, CO. We thought we were going to be able to ski that day, but alas--we did not because our flight got cancelled and re-routed and all other nonsensical things. I should have turned right back around for Nashvegas. We drove to Aspen, checked in and then went out for dinner. Nice night,,it will be a great weekend.
Saturday:
WRONG!!!! About 4 in the morning Ash woke up with an upset stomach and proceded to make what seemed like several hundred trips to the bathroom. I, being the attentive wife, asked if I could do anything, and then fell back asleep. About 7, Ash was miserable. I ended up taking him to the minor clinic about 10 and they hooked him up to an IV and pumped him full of fluids cause he was very much dehydrated. I read the latest "O" magazine and caught up on the Britney scandle that is her life. What is wrong with that girl? I think it went wrong when Justin dumped her! Ooops, I did it again! I digressed---- We left around 12:30 and went back to our room where he slept the rest of the day.
Sunday:
I checked on him before going out snowboarding,,,,,still sleeping,,,,so I am off to the slopes!! :)
He watched the Super Bowl with us for a bit, before falling asleep. Bless his sweet heart!
Monday:
He comes out that afternoon for a couple of hours with me on the slopes. Obviously tired but desperately wanting to salvage some of the trip, he bravely conquered the snowfall and winds!!
Tuesday:
This begins our travel nightmare! We woke up at 4:30 to get to Eagle County by 8 for our 8:30 flight. Of course we get there by 7 and the flight was delayed until 10:30 due to storms. Then 10:30 turns to 12:30 and we finally board to Dallas. We were supposed to be in Nashvegas at 2:30,,,,but that would be hard considering we didnt leave Dallas until 6:30! Again,,due to high winds.
Finally we take off,,,but the flight was extremely bumpy. Don't you hate those flights? I was sitting next to a pilot who informed me that it was just "chop" and it was more annoying to the captain than anything. I was about to lose my lunch and was gathering all the bags behind each seat just in case. I kept poking the pilot and asking him "is this normal?" I am sure he was totally annoyed by me but who cares! We had to go a longer route because apparently there were tornados right in our area. Perfect. The flight soon was bouncing all over the place and I was sure this was it for us. The airport traffic control wouldn't let us land for the longest time due to the winds. Thankfully we finally landed and drove to our house only to hear the tornado sirens going off in our neighborhood. Awesome. Best trip ever. Really.
We made it fine, but as you saw on the news it was pretty bad other places. So, sadly we packed our snowboarding bags up the year. I do know that I need a break from flying for while also. Just cars for me. Maybe horses, trains, taxi's. But next time you fly, and the plane is bouncing like crazy, just remember that is only a little "chop" and nothing to worry about!
Have a great week!
Friday, January 25, 2008
(this picture has nothing to do with Colorado. it is in our back yard two weeks ago. awesome.)

this is Ash winding in and out of the trees--he really scared me when he would do that!~
me going through a tee-pee but trust me I did hit the stupid thing several times.

sorry-i dont know how to rotate it. Leslie-you can help me with that.

me and Ash

me, Ash, his two brothers and Jennifer (sis-in-law)

We go back this weekend so I will put more up! Have a good week!
Sunday, January 20, 2008
Back in Colorado....
Last week before I left I took a kickboxing class. This is like five steps up from Tae-Bo for sure. I took this class with a teacher who is just starting out so it is only me. I told him I was athletic and that he didn't need to take it easy on me. Well, he didn't and I almost died! I could barely work the next day! I did however feel like the "Million Dollar Baby" in her opening training scenes. I have gloves and am totally pounding on this guy. It was awesome! I will keep you updated cause I may join the cagefighting or something!:)
Friday, January 04, 2008
We also got my nephew Palmer the Wii. Has anyone played that? That is totally awesome! I was sweating so bad when I played boxing. I felt like I was playing the Italian guy on Mike Tyson's game. Very empowering. Like Tae-Bo on crack. Wish we could have had this for our famous Siggie workouts after club that year. I am terrible at bowling but this was no surprise. Palmer just wanted to create people, but that in itself was really fun. So, hats off to the Japanese for getting us off our rear ends and getting some exercise.Well, I better go see if Bennett needs his Aunt Mere to give him kisses. They are leaving tomorrow and we are so sad. We have had so much fun with everyone and will miss them terribly!
Wednesday, July 18, 2007
I'm Back,,,
So, since the house has been built (over a year) Ash and I purchased his dental practice. The day we went to sign the papers, I was thinking "No big deal-in and out in an hour max." Almost 3 hours later, and hearing words that I had no clue if even the lawyer knew what he was talking about-we walked through the doors new owners and heavily in debt. (big downside) But so far Ash is doing great and we are still married. (big plus)
My oldest brother and his wife Kim welcomed their second child-sweet Lainey Hope. She is a lump of love! She melts in your arms when you hold her. Her big brother Palmer is still sinfully adorable and also will melt your heart. Kim looks fantastic and so does Randy!
My other brother Travis and his wife Kelly are about to welcome their first child-Bennett Mitchell who should pop out to say HI in late August or first of September. Mom and I went to visit for a baby shower last weekend in Washington D.C. Kelly and Trav got so much stuff! She opened presents for 2 hours straight! Unreal! So much cute stuff!
The trip home was the trip from you know where. Our flight was scheduled to leave at 9:40 but did not leave until after 1 in the morning. So, to kill the almost 4 hours in the airport, I went walking with my IPod. Trying to make good use of time and energy. Oh-by the way-Ash and I have been on Weight Watchers for awhile now! More on that later... We are doing great with it too! Anywho-I digress. So, I walked around the airport to stay awake. All the gift shops were obviously closed so seriously there was nothing to do. Mom was wrapped in every single blanket she could find and reading about the latest scandel with Brittany Spears and her mom. (they should just make up by the way)
So, the flight was really bumpy but we landed and I was in bed at almost 4:30. But dont worry-it was all worth it! :))))
Last night, I got to hang out with some of my old high school friends. We are having our 10 year reunion this October! I cant believe how much we have all changed. Shout out to the girls! HOLLA!
OK. Well, thats all for now. I warned you that this was boring! I will try to update this more-I promise!
Saturday, September 23, 2006
Pictures of the house
here is the front view. our lot is long and narrow and a Charleston type home was the only option we had actually.
here is our view from the back porch.
there are Ashley's toys.
our view from our dock. not to shabby.
now i hope you all enjoy--sorry it took so long.
love to you.
mere
Monday, May 01, 2006
My hopes come crashing down
First of all, a quick shout out to Leslie's dad--Papa Tom and his full recovery. You are in my prayers and I love you very much!!
Ok, so as of today my house is not going to be ready by May 26th. People told me to expect this of builders and that the standard "2 week rule" will come into play. But, since we are so behind already I thought surely my builder will be on time!! Come on Mere!! Wake up and smell the tile grout!!! our new date is June 15th. Two weeks later. unbelievable. How hard is it to adjust a few drawers and finish painting a few walls??? I wanted to be in to throw a lake party for my birthday, which is May 21st in case you were wondering. (The mail is running slow, so go ahead and get those cards in this week!! :)
I would show you pics of the house, but I am too bummed. I might later. Plus our workers went on strike......of course. Never saw that one coming.
On a competely opposite note, I just finished reading "THE DaVinci Code". That is (besides the Bible and some of my Babysitter's Club books) one of the best books I have read. We are doing a study on this book at my church and I wanted to read it before the movie came out. If anyone else has read it,,let me know. I would love to talk about it. I can see how unbelievers could believe this to be some sort of the truth, and that is one of the main reasons why I wanted to read it. Also, so I could know where they were coming from and be able to discuss it rationally before I got my Peter the irrational apostle groove on and start smackin people around! :)
So, now Ash and I are stuck in our apartment for what seems like FOREVER!!! to no avail, this is not the end of the world. NOw after a few weeks when Alias is over, that will be the end of the world!
ok, i hope this tides my fans over for the next few months!
love to all,
Tuesday, March 07, 2006
Growing Pains
For the most part, Ash has done most of the house planning stuff. I have picked out faucets with him, and we did doorknobs and deadbolt together for the most part. The big things up to this point Ash has done and I have really cared because I trust him. Well, these past several days I have been working on cabinets. Kitchen and bathroom cabinets. This has ultimately made me want to throw myself in front of a semi-truck.
I dont know anything about measuring, countertops, etc. I just pick out the color, and so far I have gone over budget on everything. (this should not surprise anyone)
Today I met with the cabinet lady at our new house and talked about the kitchen and then she moved to the bookshelves in the great room. I was clearly not prepared to talk about bookshelves in the great room, therefore I began to panic and start crying on the inside. I stink at this house junk!! I have no idea what I am doing!
After work, I met Ash at his office to see some guy about life-insurance and disability. About hhmm, 45 seconds into his presentation, I was thinking about cabinets and about which scrubs I was going to wear tomorrow. All of his mumbo-jumbo, I could not understand what he was talking about. Every once in awhile, he would look at me for approval, to which I would just smile and nod. (I knew there were some hidden M&M's somewhere in the room we were in, and if I could just get to them before he saw me I would be in better shape. )
Lucky for me, Ash is really smart and can handle all this junk. I told the guy that this was all grown-up stuff and I felt to young to do this now. He promptly reminded me of my age, (thank you Mr. Mumbles) and that I did need to be prepared. geez.
so, i feel better after venting my house and insurance problems. Please keep me in mind Friday and I have to make decisions on bathroom vanities(colors), tile, hardwood floor color, fabric, and now bookshelves all before 2:00. If anyone wants to fly to Nashville and do this for me, you have my nod of approval. :)
Saturday, February 25, 2006
Vacation in Colorado
here are some pics of the week:

this is me snowboarding with my trusty helmet. safety first!
ash and I at lunch in the warming house



after a long day, its good to just sit and take in the view.

me and Ash 
sometimes i still have trouble getting off the lift and have to hold on to him for dear life!
ok, tomorrow we come back home. it has been a fabulous vacation! no broken bones this time!
Friday, February 17, 2006
i finally can send pictures!
ok, Ash and I are in the process of building a house and it is the most stressful thing ever. it is our first 6 months of marriage and we are doing something that will give us a test of true love. we were picking out doorknobs and finishes the other day and i thought our 6 month run was about over. thank goodness we agreed to disagree, and I won the battle but lost the war for a ridiculous home entertainment center. but i have pics of the house and its progress, and so i will try to post them. also a pic of me with my red hair.

holy cow!!! kelly just walked me through this whole picture thing so now you all can share in the wonders of building a house. here are some more: this is our fireplace and our contractor Dave.

ok and now the Mere with red hair :::drumroll please:

me getting my ghetto lips on right?
ok--i am totally spent and womens snowboard cross is about to come on, so i gotta go!! love to all and please pray for us as we go to Colorado next week! pray i dont break yet another vertebrae snowboarding!! one day, you guys will be watching me at the Olympics and there is no telling what color my hair will be!!
Wednesday, January 18, 2006
A bad day
Ok, well my day started off with a bang. I was blow drying my hair and I knocked off a vase that was mounted on my wall with a fake hydrangia in it. It of course shattered onto the floor, but i continued to blow dry my hair because i was almost done anyway. Ash stumbled in in all his morning glory to see (squinted) if i was okay. I told him i was fine and this was all a dream. (he is really gullible)
So, ok the first hour of JAN. 18 was not good, but how much worse could it get?
I go to work early because it snowed here and i wanted to be a good hygienist and prepare for the days teeth that awaited me. I made coffee for all to share, and then went to do some things. I came back to the kitchen and the coffee was EVERYWHERE! i apparently did not put the coffee pot all the way in the holder thing and the stream of coffee never made it to the pot. So, a royal mess was made and I frantically tried to clean it up lest I become the office joke. The coffee had also soaked my new coat Ash got me for Christmas, that is gortex material, but still smells like coffee. The coffee finally got cleaned up with the help of 10000 paper towels, but my jacket kept leaking. I had to literally wring out my coat to get it to stop. finally, i just put some paper towels under my coat so it could drain. so now my North Face smells like Folgers Strong blend.
Lunch time comes around, and Ash informs me he got a new flipper. The tooth on the retainer thing? remember? now he has two. This new one is way more comfy he says. now on my bathroom counter are 2 retainers with 2 teeth on them. i KNOW i did not sign up for this August 20, 2005.
I go after work to meet Cilla and cant find my keys. I have my boss almost break my window to my car because i am "sure" they are in there, when someone comes out and says she found them in the trash. nice Mere. My boss just rolled his eyes and laughed. somehow, i still became the office joke.
So, I am home now thankfully with no more screw ups for the day. I am sure all these misfortunes are a direct result of my hair color. this never happened when i was blond. people understood when i messed up. now it is a shock!
But, who is the one person who can make this all better? Ash of course. My sweet husband told me he had a present for me. Jewelry? Ann Taylor gift card? shoes? no girls!! better!!1 what cna be better???
HOW ABOUT A CASE OF HARIBO GUMMI BEARS!! THATS 48 BOXES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
haribo gummi bears are the best gummi bears ever. their texture is priceless. you can buy them at walgreens or target, and they are in a gold box or bag. please go and enjoy.
how sweet is he? a patient of his sells candy at cost, and so he got those plus some Jelly Bellies for me! i am so excited! I plan on devouring them immediatley!
so the day ended well, but i am still going back to blond tomorrow. i will try to take a picture of the Goth that is my hair for you all to see!
Tuesday, January 17, 2006
Blondes really do have more fun,,,
I colored my hair brown/red. I am no longer a blond. It happened Friday and some friends of ours called it "spicy hair." Not quite sure, but I think there is a compliment in there somewhere. BUt, and no offense to all my homegirls with the brown and red hair (Leslie, thats you and only you!), but I think i have been feeling sad these past few days. I dont know if it is the dye, or the whole persona. I just cant get into it. Of course Cilla, with her ever-loving comments said "Your hair doesnt know what color it is!") thanks mom. #1 supporter of everything i do.
I think i am depressed because I miss the blond Mere. I have tried to be more serious, more funky, more trendy with this new hair, but I just cant get into it. I have lost my edge, my wit, and my euphora.
So, i have made the decision after watching the Golden Globes last night and seeing Reese Witherspoon looking ever so fabulous, that I want to go back to my "natural" color. As my lovely sister in law told me--"I love your blond highlights!" Some are still el naturel, but again, there was a compliment in there somewhere. Seriously, I think Kel was telling me the blond Mere is what we are all used too, so why mess with perfection? :)))))) (see, the humor is starting to come back!)
ok, done deal. Thursday is D-DAY for my hair. I am going back to blond!!! yea!!! I feel better all ready!
thanks for the pep talk everyone. sorry i stink at writing blogs. i get carpal tunnel syndrome from digging into peoples mouths everyday.
peace in the middle east.
Monday, January 02, 2006
New Year's in Indiana?
this is my first Christmas and New Year's as a married woman, and that is the obvious HUGE highlight of 2005.
Some lowlights of 2005 include:
Ash's house burning completely down on Jan. 26, 2005
Me breaking a vertebrae in my lower back on Feb. 11 while snowboarding in Colorado
The pathetic season of the Vols
The ridiculously slow rate the framers are taking with our house
The movie "Elizabethtown"
So, this year Ash and I went to ski for the weekend at Perfect North Slopes in Indiana. That's right, I said INDIANA! . We were driving to the "slopes" (aka - a bit larger than a hill) and it was green grass all the way until randomly there was some snow on this hill. It was a little weird skiing in 50 degree weather with other people skiing in jeans. (Just a note for everyone, please don't ski or snowboard in jeans. you look silly. ) Thankfully, I did not get hurt this time around, but hopefully Colorado won't get me again!
We slept in Saturday and met up with some kids from our church youth group that night around 8:00 for some night skiiing and to watch fireworks. We ended up snowboarding until 3 in the morning!! I am a SPECK!! I am not used to staying up this late! :) (shout out to my brother!)
We quit early yesterday to go snowtubing which totally freaked me out, but I know Ashley loved watching my eyes basically pop out of my head down the hill at a very fast rate!
To end our fun vacation, we ate at Abuelos!!! (i think i misspelled it!! Sorry to my fellow Abileneans!) I loved taking Ash to one of my favorite college restaurants in the middle of Lawrenceburg, Indiana.
Overall, Christmas with my family was absolutely perfect. New Years in Indiana was every girl's dream! :) I am truly blessed!
Stay tuned for Christmas pics of my nephew Palmer!!